Play in the BBL

Players are usually recruited by the Head Coach from each team either via external recruitment or via promotion from the club’s development programme. The League does not hold league-wide tryouts so, in the first instance, players are invited to submit their CV/Resume to clubs directly. The contact details for each of the 13 BBL clubs are as follows:

Bristol Flyers - andreas.kapoulas@sgscol.ac.uk

Cheshire Phoenix - andy.green@cheshirebasketball.co.uk

Glasgow Rocks - info@glasgowrocks.co.uk

Leicester Riders - info@leicesterriders.co.uk

Leeds Force - info@leedsforce.co.uk

London Lions - enquiries@londonlionsbasketball.com

Manchester Giants - info@manchestergiants.com

Newcastle Eagles - office@newcastle-eagles.com

Plymouth University Raiders - info@plymouthraiders.com

Sheffield Sharks - joel.mills@mls.gb.com

Surrey Scorchers - info@surreyscorchers.co.uk

Worcester Wolves - info@worcesterwolves.org

All non-EU (European Union) players without the right to work in the UK need a work permit and will have to meet the criteria set down by the UK Government. If you do require a work permit to work in the UK and don’t meet the criteria set down to receive a Governing Body Endorsement then unfortunately you won’t be able to play in the BBL – regardless of how good you are. For further information visit http://www.englandbasketball.co.uk/articles/article.aspx?aid=17&pid=100

If you meet the criteria, should a BBL club wish to sign you then the club will handle the entire work permit application process (including Governing Body Endorsement) prior to your arrival in the UK ie you do not need to make any application yourself prior to finding a club.

Reasons for Non EU players not requiring a work permit can include, marriage to a British or EEA citizen, Commonwealth citizenship with British heritage (ie British grandparent) etc. Please establish whether you are entitled to this status prior to submitting your CV.

-->